Corn Chowder Recipe

Last week, my friend asked me if I wanted some sweet corn. Ours is several weeks from making, so I accepted. She and her husband were extremely generous with our family, so I spent about three hours that night cutting corn off the cob for our freezer. I ended up with 13 quart bags of sweet corn in the deep freeze for the winter.

I love the bright color of yellow sweet corn from the garden in the winter. It is so cheerful and uplifting.

This recipe for Corn Chowder is one of my go-to meals for cold nights when I just don’t feel like cooking. I use frozen corn from the garden, but you can use canned or frozen corn from the store.

Corn Chowder

(this recipe serves 6 people at my house.)

  • 2 cups of whole kernel corn, fresh, canned, or thawed frozen corn.
  • 2 large potatoes, peeled and diced (sometimes I leave the peel on if I’m using red potatoes)
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 2 cups of chicken broth
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch

In a large Dutch oven, combine the corn, potatoes, onion powder, and chicken broth. Add enough water to cover the veggies. Bring to a boil, and reduce heat to simmer, until the potatoes are soft. usually about 10 minutes.

Stir in half the milk and the butter. in a jar with a lid, combine the milk and cornstarch. Cap the jar and shake until the milk and cornstarch are thoroughly mixed. Add the mixture to the soup and stir until it is thick and creamy.

Serve hot.

I like to serve this recipe with a crusty pan of cornbread. It’s also really good if you add a little chopped ham to the soup.

Leave a Reply

