Food Diary, July 24, 2014

Yesterday, I got my order from the bulk food co-op. I’ve never ordered from them before, but when I picked up my produce, I was very happy. The half bushel of Georgia peaches that I ordered were just beautiful! There was only one bruised peach in the whole box.

I spent the evening canning peaches for this winter, and I still have half the box left to process. My first canning session yielded 8 quarts and 2 pints of peaches. I need to get out and buy more sugar for sugar syrup and jar lids today so I can finish.

I hope to be able to make at least 4 more jars of canned peaches, and a batch of peach jam with the remainder of these peaches.

I also plan on making some more dill pickles with the cukes I’ve picked in the last couple of days.

Also, in the freezer on a cookie sheet right now is about 2 quarts of frozen blackberries that were picked in the last couple of days. In a few minutes, I will head down, scrape them off the pan, and bag them up for the freezer.

Leave a Reply

