Green Beans From the Garden

One of my favorite flavors from the garden is fresh green beans. I grow bush beans for the most part, and I love gathering a huge double handful, taking them to the house, and eating them for lunch.

100_6418

Oddly, I’d never had fresh green beans prepared tastily until a couple of years ago. In the past, the only fresh green beans I’d ever eaten were cooked into a green bean mush. A few years ago, my husband and I visited an upscale restaurant in New Orleans, and I experienced the flavor and texture of amazing fresh green beans. I determined then that I would grow and prepare these beans for my family. They are so much better than either canned or frozen green beans.

Here’s how you prepare fresh green beans.

Wash your green beans by spraying them with cool water in a colander. I prepare a huge double handful for my family of six. Break off the two ends of the beans and break them into bite sized pieces. Put them in a large saucepan and cover them with water. Bring to a boil over medium high heat and reduce to simmer. Simmer uncovered for 15-20 minutes. At this point, I poke a fork into them and test how tender they are. If they are too firm, I cook a little longer.

Drain the water off of the beans and drop in a tablespoon of butter. Cover the pot with a lid for a couple of minutes to allow the butter to melt. Stir in a teaspoon of salt and toss the beans to coat with the salt and butter. Serve them piping hot.

Leave a Reply

