Dill Pickles

At my house, nobody likes fresh cucumbers. However, my family is crazy about dill pickles. Apparently, I make really good dill pickles. Oddly, I personally don’t care a bit for pickles of any kind.

But I do love to feed my family and it’s much cheaper to grow my own cucumbers and make pickles for them. So every year I make pickles for them.

Here’s my recipe. I like this recipe because I can scale it up or down depending on how many cucumbers are ready. I can make one jar or six with it.

Dill Pickles

For each quart of pickles you’ll need:

  • 1/2 pound of pickling cucumbers (don’t use slicing cukes. Your pickles will be soft.)
  • 1 tablespoon dill seed
  • 1 minced clove of garlic
  • 2 1/4 cup water
  • 3/4 cup vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon pickling salt
  • (optional) 1/4 teaspoon pickle-crisp granules

In a pot, mix the water, vinegar, and salt. Bring to a boil. While you’re waiting for the pot to boil, scrub your cucumbers under cool water and slice off the blossom end of the cucumbers and any stems. Pack the cukes in clean, hot jars. Add garlic, dill, and pickle crisp.

Pour boiling brine over the cucumbers and leave a half inch of headspace. Cap with 2 piece lids and tighten bands. Process in a boiling water bath for 15 minutes.

Remove from pot and set on a clean dry towel on the counter. Next morning, check lids for seals and refrigerate anything that didn’t seal properly.

Let pickles stand for 7 days before eating to allow the flavors to blend.100_5320

Save

Leave a Reply

