What do farmers do when they can’t sleep?

This morning, my husband had to get up at 2:30 for work. There’s been an emergency situation sort of ongoing for about 5 days. Today, in the wee hours of the morning, they were working toward the final lap of getting the situation resolved.

Anyway, after he left, I just could not get back to sleep. I tossed and turned until 4 am. An hour lying in bed unable to sleep is plenty.

So I got up and started on my work. I figure it this way, if I go ahead and get up, I can tackle my work, knock it out, and after lunch, I’ll lay down for a nap. Scientists say that as long as you get about 8 hours in a 24-hour period, you will be adequately rested.

This morning, I got up and tackled the veggies on my counter. I broke about 3 quarts of green beans while watching a TED talk. Breaking beans is dull, so I prefer to watch television while doing it. Either that or I get my kids to do it for me.

By 6 am, I had done the following:

Blanched and bagged 3 quarts of green beans. They are nicely set in the freezer, chilling and freezing right now.

Made 2 quarts of dill pickles.

Grated and froze 3 cups of zucchini.

Baked a loaf of Lemon Poppy Seed Zucchini Bread.

Washed all the dishes.

This morning, I begin homeschooling my kids again. We’ve had a nice break for the summer , but it’s time to get back to work.

Come to think of it, I’ve never stopped working!

Leave a Reply

