This week on the farm

It’s been so busy this week.

Although we haven’t had much rain (just a sprinkling really) my corn is starting to come in. Currently in the freezer, I have about 20 bags of sweet corn. That’s a good start, but I am hoping to end up with about 60 bags altogether.

However, there is still quite a bit of corn making in the garden, so I think we will come close to that goal.

100_6907

I’ve had a good bunch of tomatoes come in. I have about 12 Cherokee Purples ripening on the counter. Tonight, I am grilling some chicken breasts and serving them on a bun with tomatoes, lettuce and mayonnaise.

Divine!

Also, in the garden, there are quite a few Romas turning from glossy green to a lovely orangey yellow. Next week, they should be perfect.

 100_6899

Just in time too!

I ordered a Victorio Food Strainer and Sauce Maker . It should get here by the time that those Romas are ready for processing. So I’m excited that I will be able to make some spaghetti sauce without peeling all those tomatoes.

I’ve been watering like mad after buying a 100 foot soaker hose and a sprinkler at Home Depot this week. My plants have definitely enjoyed the water, and they have perked up already.

Leave a Reply

