Flavorful Plants: Paprika and Chili Powders

In the past few years, I’ve been planting more and more of our herbs. In the past, I’ve grown lots of basil, cilantro, parsley, sage, lemon balm, and oregano. These fresh herbs add pizzazz to our palates and are easy to grow.

This year, I am trying a couple of new plants to fit the flavor needs in my kitchen.

From Baker’s Creek, I ordered two new kinds of peppers. We’ve always grown sweet peppers, but this year, I’m trying a couple of hot peppers. Not because we will likely eat them. Instead, I plan on drying these hot peppers.

I can use the dried hot peppers in pickles, like Dill Pickles and Pickled Okra. However, my main plan is to dry them and grind them up for winter flavorings. Leuscheaur Paprika Peppers can be dried and ground to make my own paprika. Poblano Peppers can be dried and ground to make chili powder. I have a dehydrator to make this project a success. Generally, in our humid climate, veggies develop mold when I’ve tried to dry them any other way.

Peppers

That’s the plan anyway. I’ll keep you posted on how it works as the summer progresses.

 

Photo Credit: Peppers by Vincent Teeuwen via Flikr

Leave a Reply

