Garden Goodness–Bell Peppers–Fajitas

The garden is really beginning to produce these days. I picked a full five gallon bucket off green beans the other day, and my wonderful friends helped me break them as we sat and visited after lunch on Tuesday. It was great fun.

I love creating recipes that use some of the garden produce. While I like to save plenty of the veggies for the winter months, there’s nothing quite like making a meal with lots of yumminess from the garden. Fajitas are a great way of using peppers and making a tasty meal for the family.

Mr. Bell's Nice Set

This morning, I put a pound of stir fry meat into the crock pot. You can use chicken if you like but beef is what’s on the menu for today. The spices are the same no matter which meat you choose. To the meat, I add the following spices:

  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp Paprika
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 2 tsp Chili Powder

I add 1/4 cup of water, cover the crock pot and cook it on low all day. This means that the meat will be tasty tender at supper time.

When it’s getting close to supper time, I heat some oil in a cast iron pan and saute some bell pepper slices until they are slightly blackened. I usually add a little salt to them. I also heat up some black beans with a little salt and cumin, and I cook some yellow rice.

After it’s all cooked, we assemble the fajitas. On a warmed, large flour tortilla, we layer sour cream, fajita meat, beans, rice, and shredded cheddar cheese. I roll up the tortilla and serve it to my family. I also think that sliced tomatoes and cilantro would be great additions to these fajitas.

Yummy!

Photo Credit: Mr. Bell’s Nice Set by OakleyOriginals via Flikr

Leave a Reply

